About Us

The New York State Brewers Association (NYSBA) is a 501 (c)6  and was founded in 2003 to serve as a promotional and legislative proponent for New York State breweries, microbreweries, farm breweries, brewpubs and brewing affiliated businesses. The growth of the Craft Beer segment continues to be strong and New York State’s share of that growth has exceeded that of breweries on the national level.

The outlook for breweries in New York State remains strong with more breweries-in-planning than ever, continued barrelage increases and growth in distribution in and out of state. In addition, with tremendous support from Governor Andrew Cuomo and legislators throughout the State, breweries in New York are enjoying great success and are poised to continue making great beer, increase market share, and create more jobs.


Support & protect the New York State craft beer industry through advocacy, education, and promotion.



Board of Directors

The NYSBA is controlled by its members and led by a Board of Directors.

The Board understands the daily challenges facing the industry and recognizes the need for this Association. We encourage each brewery, brewery related business, beer aficionado, and the like to become an active member in this new and exciting organization. Collectively, we will make a difference.

Meet the Board of Directors


Executive Committee – Rich Vandenburgh (President), Hutch Kugeman (VP), Chris Spinelli (Treasurer) Kevin Mullen (Secretary), Chris Ericson (1st Past President)

Governance Committee – Hutch Kugeman(Chair),  Rich Vandenburgh, Chris Spinelli

Technical/Safety – Ian Conboy (Chair) Jen Meyers, Rich Michaels, Bill Lenczuk

Competition Committee – Chris Spinelli (Chair), Ethan Cox, Hutch Kugeman, Jen Meyers, Tony Cordova, Andy Cook

Conference Committee –  Kevin Mullen (Chair), Hutch Kugeman, Nikki Cavanaugh, Rich Michaels, Paul Leone, Kim Porter, Kevin Cain, Tim Rozmus

Inclusivity Committee – (Chair), Ann Reilly, Mariquita Reese, Chris Gandsy, Chris Spinelli, Laura Dierks, Eric Gearity, Chloe Kay

Farm Brewing – Jason Sahler (Chair), Randy Lacey, Mark James (Farm Bureau), Kristen Lyons, Rick Pedersen, Jon Kielty, Cheryl Thayer, Max Ocean, Chad Meigs, Christian Malsatzki, Chad Zimar, Dan Palladino, Ted Hawley, Dennis and Janette Nesel